Home Sports Sharks’ Brent Burns a finalist for Ted Lindsay Award

Sharks’ Brent Burns a finalist for Ted Lindsay Award

2 min read

			Sharks’ Brent Burns a finalist for Ted Lindsay Award

SAN JOSE — Sharks defenseman Brent Burns on Tuesday was named a finalist for the Ted Lindsay Award, given annually to the most outstanding player in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players’ Association.

Edmonton’s Connor McDavid and Pittsburgh’s Sidney Crosby were also named finalists for the award.

Burns is the second Sharks player to be a finalist for the award. Joe Thornton was also a finalist after the 2005-06 season when it was known as the Lester B. Pearson Award. He finished second in voting, behind Jaromir Jagr, then of the New York Rangers.

Burns is also a finalist for the Norris Trophy, presented annually to the defenseman who “demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position.” Other finalists for the Norris are Ottawa’s Erik Karlsson and Tampa Bay’s Victor Hedman.

Monday, Burns was not among the finalists for the Hart Trophy as the league’s MVP as voted by members of the Professional Hockey Writer’s Association. Those finalists were Columbus goalie Sergei Bobrovsky, McDavid and Crosby.

The winners of all the 2017 NHL Awards will be announced June 21 in Las Vegas.

Burns’ historic season included a Sharks team-high 29 goals and 76 points, both of which led all NHL defensemen and set new team records for goals and points in a season by a blueliner.

Overall, Burns ranked ninth in the NHL in points, and tied for 12th in assists.

Load More Related Articles
Load More By Angelina Scott
Load More In Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

Kurtenbach: The 49ers’ biggest need was exposed against Tennessee

Highlights   ABOVE: Cam Inman and Dieter Kurtenbach talk about the 49ers’ …